What Is the CSE Exam?


Civil services refer to the administrative services of the government that are responsible for the implementation of policies and programs. These services are generally categorized into two types – the central civil services, which are administered by the Union Government, and the state civil services, which are administered by the state governments.

The Indian government’s recruiting process for civil services, defense services, and other government services is managed by the constitutional Body UPSC. In addition to the UPSC CSE Preliminary Examination, the UPSC is also  in charge of advising the government on issues about hiring, promoting, and disciplining civil workers as well as recommending appointments to the President of India for posts within the government. The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions are in charge of the UPSC, which has its headquarters in New Delhi.

In India, the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts a competitive exam for the Civil Services, also referred to as the IAS Exam. It is also known as UPSC CSE and takes place to find candidates for central and All India Service positions. Through this exam, positions in the UPSC for 24 different Civil Services are filled.

Among all, IAS (Indian Administrative Service), IPS (Indian Police Services), and IFS (Indian Foreign Services) are the three most popular civil service positions. This final result shows the candidates’ Upsc ranks concerning the cutoff. A candidate’s position is determined by their UPSC ranking. This article will cover the basics of the CSE exam, this article will also provide information about the different UPSC posts and their selection process.

Table of Contents

Various Posts of UPSC

Indian Foreign Service




The Selection Process

Wrapping Up

Various Posts of UPSC

The highest level of administrative positions in the Indian bureaucracy are Group A civil services positions. The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts competitive exams to fill these positions, and the hiring procedure is rigorous and very competitive.

Group A includes the following posts:

1. Indian Administrative Services

2.     Indian Foreign Service

  1. Indian Police Service
  2. Indian Forest Service
  3. Indian Audit and Accounts Service
  4. Indian Communication Finance Services
  5. Indian Postal Service
  6. Indian Railway Traffic Service
  7. Indian Revenue Service
  8. Railway Protection Force Indian Civil Accounts Service
  9. Indian Railway Accounts Service
  10. Indian Railway Personnel Service
  11. Indian Trade Service
  12. Indian Corporate Law Service
  13. Indian Defence Accounts Service
  14. Indian Defence Estates Service
  15. Indian Information Service
  16. Indian Ordnance Factories Service

Group B includes the following Services

  1. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service
  2. DANICS- Delgu, Andaman, and the Nicobar Islands Civil Services
  3. Pondicherry Civil Service
  4. Pondicherry Police Service
  5. DANIPS- It Stands for the Police Service of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Delhi NCR


The most renowned civil service in India is known as IAS or Indian Administrative Service. The IAS officials hold various administrative posts in the national and state governments and are in charge of monitoring the nation’s administration. In their different fields of power, they are in charge of carrying out policies, managing government resources, and upholding law and order.

The IAS officers are well-respected and possess a broad range of duties and authority. They have a significant impact on how the nation is run and are renowned for their managerial and administrative powers. After the selection, the candidate undergoes training at Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration in Mussoorie, Uttarakhand, before the appointment.


IPS  stands for Indian Police Service, one of the three All India Services under the Government of India (the other two are the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Forest Service). In their different jurisdictions, the IPS officers are in charge of upholding law and order and guaranteeing public safety. In India, state and central police forces are under the leadership and control of IPS officers.

They are involved in a variety of tasks, including controlling traffic and preserving public order as well as preventing, investigating, and detecting crime. They are also in charge of guarding VIPs, foreign dignitaries, and significant government facilities. After the selection, the candidate undergoes training at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy in Hyderabad, Telangana before their appointment.


One of the three All India Services within the Government of India, together with the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, is the Indian Forest Service (IFS). In addition to managing the nation’s forests and animals, IFS personnel are crucial in putting the government’s policies on the environment and climate change into action.

The IFS officers are engaged in a variety of endeavors, including wildlife management, forest conservation, reforestation, and the defense of forests against poachers and illicit logging. To put into practice diverse forestry and environmental conservation strategies, they collaborate closely with state forest departments, academic institutions, and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

After the selection candidate undergoes training at Indira Gandhi National Forest Academy in Dehradun, Uttarakhand,

The Selection Process

UPSC exam is conducted in three phases:

1. Pre Exam

General Studies Paper I and CSAT (General Studies Paper II) are the two papers that make up the UPSC CSE Prelims. Even if the CSAT is a qualifying exam, still the selection of candidates for UPSC Mains is based on the  performance of candidates in its General Studies test.

This means that the Prelims cutoff will take into account the General Studies Paper result. Negative marks are also awarded for incorrect responses.

2. Main Exam

There will be a total of 9 papers among which Papers A and B would be qualifying in nature and the marks scored in the other paper will be taken into the account for the preparation of the final merit list and will contribute to the determination of the rank of the candidate.

3. Interview –

The UPSC civil services exam’s final phase is the IAS Interview. Candidates who clear the Mains exam then receive an electronic summon to appear in the UPSC interview. The exam is held at the office of the Union Public Service Commission, located at Dholpur House in Delhi.

The maximum mark is 275 and this round provides a lot of scoring possibilities. Candidates must be fully informed about the IAS Interview process, they must be informed earlier because it is their final opportunity to raise their final score review.

Wrapping Up

So, this was all you needed to know about the CSE exam. Hope you found this blog useful. Stay tuned to this space and keep learning!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *